Post Reply 
Kill All Backgrounds (even tables)
Mar. 02, 2005, 10:47 PM
Post: #1
 
I use the original Proxomitron - Universal Web Filter Version: Naoko 4.5 (2003-6-1)
I have enabled the following Web Page Filters:
[img]http://img105.eDead.cx/img105/9004/mywebfilters8kb.th.jpg[/img]

The "Kill All Backgrounds (even tables)" filter leaves some remains behind.

Example:
With the filter enabled
[img]http://img105.eDead.cx/img105/9895/withfliterenabled2ba.th.jpg[/img]

With the filter disabled
[img]http://img105.eDead.cx/img105/4857/withfilterdisabled8mn.th.jpg[/img]

How do I get rid of those ugly remains? Any help will be appreciated. Thank You.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 02, 2005, 11:05 PM
Post: #2
 
maxbaggi;

Hi, and Welcome to the forums!

Those curves are probably images. I'm sure you're aware that there are no HTML codes that permit tables to have such corners, hence the need to resort to an image.

Check your source code to be sure, though. :P


Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 02, 2005, 11:13 PM
Post: #3
 
Hi Oddysey,

Thanks for the early reply and for welcoming me.
I'm sorry I don't know anything about HTML or HTML codes [unsure] How do I find the source code and what do I do with it? [unsure]
maybe you can help me with it... This is the offending website http://www.1024x768wallpapers.com
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 05:47 AM
Post: #4
 
Oddysey Wrote:...I'm sure you're aware that there are no HTML codes that permit tables to have such corners, hence the need to resort to an image...
Actually Oddysey, in Mozilla browsers you can use CSS to make curved borders on tables. Just look at Mozilla.org and then look at the source code. It's not really relevent to what hes asking, I just thought I'd point it out Wink.

�{=(~�::[Shea]::��~)=}�
How 'bout you sideburns, you want some of this milk?
This fading text is pretty cool, eh? I bet you wish you had some.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 07:47 AM
Post: #5
 
In addition to the backgrounds/table remover, I use a filter that blocks images by name...

Code:
[Blocklists]
List.IMG_SRC = "..\Lists\IMG SRC.txt"

Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "Remove:  "<img src..." Images"
Active = TRUE
Limit = 256
Match = "<img*src=*$LST(IMG_SRC)*>"
Replace = "<center>"
          "<span class=Prox id="p-comment" style=display:none;>"
          "\&bull; \1SRC Image Disabled"
          "</span></center>"

My 'current' IMG SRC.txt file is:
Code:
# Proxomitron 4+
# Syntax: $LST(IMG_SRC)
# Use (filter used): Remove:  "<img src..." Images
#

# Logo Images
logo(^(n|ff|ut))*.(gif|jpg) $SET(1=Logo )

# Header Images
(header|hdr)*.(gif|jpg) $SET(1=Header )

# Banner Images
(banner|bnr)*.(gif|jpg) $SET(1=Banner )

# Footer Images
footer*.(gif|jpg) $SET(1=Footer )

# Index Images
(index|ndx)([a-z]|(|_|-)[0-9])*.(gif|jpg) $SET(1=Index )

# Yahoo
edit.gif
edit_d.gif
x_d.gif

# Google
res[0-3].gif
images_hp.gif

# Proxomitron Forum
ProxoForum.gif

# Computer Cops
headertop.gif
blockbot.gif
bookmark.gif
hbreak(1|2|3|4|5|6).gif
header_(premium|end).gif

# sportsillustrated.cnn.com
email_alerts.gif
email_this.gif
print_this.gif
save_this.gif
most_popular.gif
# viewer.right.edge.gif
# viewer.bottom.gif

...
I limited the above list, I get some very good "mileage" out of this filter...

For your site in question, add the following to the IMG SRC.txt file:
Code:
lbo.gif
lbe.gif
rb.gif
rbe.gif

To get the name of the .gif/.jpg, I right-click on top of the image and click properties - then add the name to IMG SRC.txt...


Hope that helps...


ps - the original filter idea is not my own, but I cannot remember from whom I got it (but the version above is altered quite a bit from the original to the point that the originator probably doesn't even recognize it - other than the idea of blocking images from a list of image titles)...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 10:23 AM
Post: #6
 
Shea;
Quote:Actually Oddysey, in Mozilla browsers you can use CSS to make curved borders on tables. Just look at Mozilla.org and then look at the source code.
Well, my fine young friend, if you'll be so kind as to feast your peepers on this little snippet from template.css, courtesy of http://www.mozilla.org:

Quote:#header {
background: #455372 url("../../images/header_bl.<span style='color:red'>png</span>") bottom left repeat-x;
position: relative;
min-height: 39px;
height: 5em;
padding: 0;
voice-family: "\"}\"";
voice-family: inherit;
height: 3em;
padding: 15px 0;
}

Which fits in right about here on Mozilla's home page:

Quote:<body id="www-mozilla-org" class="homepage">
<div id="container">

<p class="skipLink"><a href="#firefox-feature" accesskey="2">Skip to main content[/url]</p>

<div id="header">
<h1><a href="/" title="Return to home page" accesskey="1">Mozilla[/url]</h1>
<ul>
<li id="menu_aboutus"><a href="about/" title="Getting the most out of your online experience">About[/url]</li>
<li id="menu_developers"><a href="developer/" title="Using Mozilla's products for your own applications">Developers[/url]</li>
<li id="menu_store"><a target="_top" href="http://www.mozillastore.com/?r=mozorg" title="Shop for Mozilla products on CD and other merchandise">Store[/url]</li>
<li id="menu_support"><a href="support/" title="Installation, trouble-shooting, and the knowledge base">Support[/url]</li>
<li id="menu_products"><a href="products/" title="All software Mozilla currently offers">Products[/url]</li>
</ul>

(and so on and so forth)

I trust that I've made my point, eh? But nice try.... you almost had me going there for a moment. :P


Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 10:44 AM
Post: #7
 
maxbaggi;

Actually, you don't really need to know what's in the source code, because as ProxRocks points out, you can just as easily right-click on the image in question, click Properties, and discern the name that way. Once you've done that, you have the necessary information to plug into a filter that will then block the offensive image(s).

However, as usual, ProxRocks has volunteered his filter for your use. Here's the quick and dirty on how to make it all work for you.

Start your favorite text editor, and open the configuration file you're using. Odds are good that you're currently loading the file called 'default.cfg', found in Proxo's main folder. Once that file is open for editing, use your editor's search (or find) function to locate the Blocklists keyword. Make a new line just like what you see above in ProxRocks' message. In fact, you can just copy-and-paste his line right in there.

Once that's done, locate the Patterns keyword, and copy-and-paste all eight (8) lines just as ProxRocks has shown them. Now you're done editing the config file, so save it, then close it.

Open up a new file, and give it the name 'img src.txt'. As before, copy-and-paste the entire set of lines within the box above, and insert them into this new file. Add the four additional lines in the next box - ProxRocks has already found the offenders for you. Now save your file, and close your editor.

Finally, re-load your configuration in one of two ways: either open Proxo's main menu, and hit the little blue disk icon with the red arrow; or just right click Proxo's tray icon, and select Load from that menu, choosing the default.cfg file (or whichever one you modified earlier).

That should do it. Now go do it, and then report back to us how it went. Wink Oh, and don't forget to thank PR, he's done a lot of homework for you on this! Cheers


Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 11:19 AM
Post: #8
 
Oddysey Wrote:Oh, and don't forget to thank PR, he's done a lot of homework for you on this! Cheers
lol... not much homework at all really...

I've been using that filter for a good year at least...

It started out as an *easy* way to BLOCK images by the name of "logo.gif" (the 8.6 kilobyte 'logo image' on Google) or "header.jpg" (case in point, the 28.5 kilobyte 'header image' at the top of this very forum)...

It then evolved into 'trapping' "banner", "footer", and "index" images...


You'd be surprised how much bandwidth is WASTED by downloading "logos", "headers", and "index" GARBAGE...


If it's over 5k or so, I do *not* WASTE my time downloading it...
Not a 'rule of thumb', of course...

and btw, I'M ON BROADBAND!!!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 06:11 PM
Post: #9
 
Oddysey Wrote:...I trust that I've made my point, eh?&nbsp; But nice try.... you almost had me going there for a moment.&nbsp; :P...

Then how do you explain this site? Try viewing it in Firefox and when you hover over the links at the top, the background turns orange and the corners of it are rounded off. Now try viewing that same site in IE. Hmmm the corners seem to be pointed now. If you tak a look at the CSS file "/css/main.css" and scroll down to "#sitenav a" you will see this under it:

-moz-border-radius: 0.5em;

Only mozilla browsers know what to do with that. It sets how big the curve is.

�{=(~�::[Shea]::��~)=}�
How 'bout you sideburns, you want some of this milk?
This fading text is pretty cool, eh? I bet you wish you had some.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 03, 2005, 06:15 PM
Post: #10
 
Big Teeth Thanks you guys Big Teeth I got the solution to my problem within 24 hours. I was expecting at least a 3 days waiting period.

ProxRocks;
Thanks for sharing your filter and working on my problem. Now I can get rid of those pesky little remains for good. Big Teeth

Oddysey;
Thanks for breaking it down for me... I had no idea what to do with PR's filter. [lol]
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 04, 2005, 02:56 AM
Post: #11
 
ProxRocks;
Quote:I've been using that filter for a good year at least...

It started out as an *easy* way to BLOCK images by the name of "logo.gif" (the 8.6 kilobyte 'logo image' on Google) or "header.jpg" (case in point, the 28.5 kilobyte 'header image' at the top of this very forum)...

It then evolved into 'trapping' "banner", "footer", and "index" images...

You'd be surprised how much bandwidth is WASTED by downloading "logos", "headers", and "index" GARBAGE...

If it's over 5k or so, I do *not* WASTE my time downloading it...
Not a 'rule of thumb', of course...
You know, I was just about to say "aren't you still on dial-up, and if so, then this filter makes perfect sense to me", and then you pull the rug out from under me with

Quote:and btw, I'M ON BROADBAND!!!
Well, congratulations, buddy. It couldn't have happened to a more deserving fella.

Just remember my motto "So many sites to filter, so many times to hoist one in memory of Scott!" Cheers


Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 04, 2005, 03:03 AM
Post: #12
 
Shea;
Quote:Then how do you explain this site? Try viewing it in Firefox and when you hover over the links at the top, the background turns orange and the corners of it are rounded off. Now try viewing that same site in IE. Hmmm the corners seem to be pointed now. If you tak a look at the CSS file "/css/main.css" and scroll down to "#sitenav a" you will see this under it:

-moz-border-radius: 0.5em;

Only mozilla browsers know what to do with that. It sets how big the curve is.
Well, it would appear that you've got me there. [angry] [lol] It would appear that I must now modify my previous statements, doesn't it? Consider them appropriately modified. Wink

I'd take bets that this is a direct result of the rendering engine (whatever it might be called), thus necessitating a new CSS parameter for borders. Any takers that IE7 will address this in some fashion? Maybe all the way, maybe only partially, but I'm betting that they won't ignore it completely. Whose game for some action? :P


Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 04, 2005, 07:23 AM
Post: #13
 
Quote:I'd take bets that this is a direct result of the rendering engine (whatever it might be called), thus necessitating a new CSS parameter for borders.
The rendering engine for Mozilla browsers is called Gecko.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 09, 2005, 08:06 AM
Post: #14
 
The filter mentioned in this thread by ProxRocks (more details in the posts above)
Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "Remove:  "<img src..." Images"
Active = TRUE
Limit = 256
Match = "<img*src=*$LST(IMG_SRC)*>"
Replace = "<center>"
          "<span class=Prox id="p-comment" style=display:none;>"
          "\&#8226; \1SRC Image Disabled"
          "</span></center>"

This filter works just fine on almost all the websites but it distorts some webpages... for instance http://winamp.com/
Also it distorts some threads in this and other forums.

How do I fix this?
Any help will be appreciated... thanks.

P.S. I'm using Sidki's latest config (the best config there is) Cheers
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 09, 2005, 10:53 AM
Post: #15
 
proud sidki config user myself also...


as for Winamp's site, the issue there revolves around:
Code:
<img src="/images/header/logo.gif" width="200" height="62" alt="NULLSOFT WINAMP" border="0">
with /header/ in the path name of EVERY image on that site, you'd need to bypass the
Code:
# Header Images
((header|hdr)*.(gif|jpg))\2            $SET(1=\2 )
section of IMG_SRC.txt by placing a # in front of ((header|hdr)...


edit:
holy f&(^ing sh*t...

no way in Hades am I *ever* visiting winamp.com again while allowing those /header/ images in...

the [email protected] page took 119.188 seconds to load - with TWO items still yet to be loaded...
cleared the cache, hit refresh, then STOPPED the page from loading when SEVEN images were STILL 'waiting to be downloaded' - 87.516 seconds...
On BROADBAND!!!

no offense, but that is B&ll Sh*t...


THAT is the problem with ANY web site with an "image server"...
ANY image coming in from "/image/Blah/Blah" is a TOTAL WASTE...

Just my humble opinion, of course...


edit2:
Good G*d... Is Winamp *always* that slow?
I've revisited with sidki's out-of-the-box (4/2 and 6/9), with JD's 2003, 2004, and alpha, the basic and advanced, and with Grypens... Then went 'naked' and loaded the page with Proxo bypassed (a no-no in my opinion)...

I'm looking at anywhere from ONE-AND-A-HALF MINUTES and BEYOND! to get that [email protected] page to load... WTF!...

tested my broadband speed and everything is "peachie"...
it's just that [email protected] site...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: