Post Reply 
Bulletin Boards
Mar. 22, 2004, 12:09 PM
Post: #1
 
I am new to Proxo. Can someone please provide a link to sample filters/scripts that show how to access/login into BB like Yahoo and Lycos Raging Bull?

What I want to accomplish is to be able to LOGIN [or logout] into my Lycos/Raging Bull account. Currently using Proxo I cannot see the login/logout prompt because I assume that those prompts are embedded in some banner adds and Proxo does a GREAT job filtering those out Big Teeth

Thanks for any help anyone here can provide. BTW, I do have the Proxo documentation and that is great but will take me a long time to learn - cause I am a slow [careful] learner -- so I am looking for a quick way to accomplish what I want -- if that "quick" way is possible. <_<
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 04:09 PM
Post: #2
 
Well, I've done a little checking and now I realize that its the HOST file I'm using that blocking the login/logout screens. The host file I am using is the one found http://webpages.charter.net/hpguru/hosts/hosts.html

This is going to take me quite a while to figure out how to get "both" Proxo and host working together. :-)

the login link that I'm struggling with looks like:
http://ldbreg.lycos.com/cgi-bin/mayaLogin?...26d%3Dmainpages

and the logout link looks like:
http://ldbreg.lycos.com/cgi-bin/mayaLogi...=40&m_LO=1

Perhaps someone knowledgeable could point me in the right direction?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 05:56 PM
Post: #3
 
Hi mozerd, welcome aboard, here you go Smile!
Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "Lycos/Raging Bull: Form Filler"
Active = TRUE
Multi = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)ldbreg.lycos.com/cgi-bin/mayaLogin\?"
Bounds = "<form\s*</form >"
Limit = 3000
Match = "(*Member Name([^<]+<)+{4}input[^>]++value=")\1"
"("*Password([^<]+<)+{4}input[^>]++value=")\2"
"("*)\3"
Replace = "\1MY_NICK\2MY_PW\3"
"<script type="text/javascript">"
"setTimeout('document.form1.submit()',300);</script>\r\n"
"$STOP()"
Replace "MY_NICK" and "MY_PW" with your data, adjust timeout (ms) if necessary.

sidki

-> moved to "Proxomitron Program"
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 06:30 PM
Post: #4
 
Greetings sidki3003 -- and THANK YOU.

I'm in love with Proxo Big Teeth
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 07:07 PM
Post: #5
 
I'm getting the following:

Error connecting to site
The Proxomitron couldn't connect to...
ldbreg.lycos.com/cgi-bin/mayaLogin?m_PR=40&m_CBURL=http%3A%2F%2Fragingbull.lycos.com%2Fcgi-bin%2Fstatic.cgi%2Fa%3Di
The site may be busy or the web server may be down.

Need help to understand why.

I adjusted the ms value to 3000 -- which I believe translates to 3 seconds.

I know that the site is not busy or down.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 07:42 PM
Post: #6
 
No problem here when i go with above filter to that login link.

If "The Proxomitron couldn't connect to...", the error happens before any filter is seeing the page: site down or screwed proxy settings or wrong address.

General troubleshooting notes:
- check if you have the latest Proxomitron version: 4.5 June.
- *always* clear cache and restart browser when testing.
- if the problem is still there when the filter is off, it's something else (other filters, proxy settings).

sidki
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 08:37 PM
Post: #7
 
sidki, thanks for the tips. Your code works <b>just great</b> IF I blank the host file. Now all I have to do is figure out how to get <u>both</u> to coexist. [unsure]
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 08:48 PM
Post: #8
 
Use Proxo's "recent URL list" and determine which URL's are in your HOSTS file that are being blocked...

It sounds like your HOSTS file contains something "needed"...
Which would actually lead me to be suspicious of the site to begin with...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 10:29 PM
Post: #9
 
But he's using hp's HOSTS file. I'm guessing sidki is using that too so it would have to be something else too.

EDIT: Never mind...

PS - to bold things don't use HTML you have to use forum code. Instead of '<' and '>' you use '[' and ']'.

�{=(~�::[Shea]::��~)=}�
How 'bout you sideburns, you want some of this milk?
This fading text is pretty cool, eh? I bet you wish you had some.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Mar. 22, 2004, 11:15 PM
Post: #10
 
OK I found the problem in the host file for this particular Lycos site. I remarked out the following 2 lines and now Proxo works like a charm with my host file.

ldbauth.lycos.com
ldbreg.lycos.com

I want to thank sidki for providing the excellent code and ProxRocks for the "recent URL list" tip which helped a great deal to solve the problem. I'm getting a handle on what needs to be done and how to go about getting it done. I also want to thank Shea who is primarily responsible for turning me onto Proxo via his post on the Lavasoft forum for Ad-Aware.

The help all of you provided was just fantastic. Cheers
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: