Blocking ip's...
Oct. 07, 2004, 06:51 AM

Hi. I have been using the prox for a few years now. I have configs that do that job, and a few extras added to the lists. Nothing like what most of you seem to be doing.

Anyway, I am curious to see just how large a blockfile I can use with it. Basically a host file. I am having problems though getting it to block a site, much less a domain. I am using Paul's 4 Ad lists. Crossed over from Willems recently.

I have tried the hostlist, the adlist and the domain list. With the following syntax
ipaddress
http://ipaddress
http://www.xxx.com
xxx.com

I don't know enough about html or stuff to use metacharacters. I am just trying to keep the page from even loading, similar to a hostfile.

I have been messin with blockfile manager. That gives me way more than enough to mess with. I also have lot's of host files found round the web. Trouble with blockfile manager, it gives ip's/ranges, and a kind of description of the url. I can convert it to a host file, or ip list, or a myriad of other formats. The ip list is pretty straight forward. The hostfile would appear like this
ipaddress wwwxxx.com or http://www.xxxcom or wwwxxxcom or xxxcomSpam or any other variation that makes no good hostfile.

So, how can I do this, what is the correct syntax, and where would it go. If it is even possible. I have posed this question at a number of sites, so far no answers.

Also, I see lot's of snippets of code to let the prox do different things. One example is the speeding up of dns lookups talked about here. I see the code, but don't know exactly which list I would put it in and where. Is there a post on this? I haven't found it, yet.

Thanks for any help
geri
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 07, 2004, 09:02 AM

old salt;

First, Welcome to our forums!

Next, I'll try to answer your questions in quick fashion, so if something doesn't make sense, just ask for clarification. :P