Post Reply 
ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
Jul. 17, 2019, 05:15 PM
Post: #346
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
(Jul. 13, 2019 09:09 PM)amy Wrote:  Looking at that page, there is some sort of tracking/fingerprinting JavaScript on it, which I did not run but it looks very suspicious to me --- stuff like that reminds me of hacked sites where a malware script has been injected.
I suspect this is some kind of protection.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 03, 2019, 07:28 PM
Post: #347
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
Once I already asked, but no solution was found. Therefore, I will now describe the problem in more detail. There is a system on Windows 7 x86. Access to the Internet is possible only through the corporate proxy 192.168.32.1:80. So I made the following settings, in ProxHTTPSProxyMII added:

Code:
[GENERAL]
ProxAddr = http://localhost:8118
FrontPort = 8079
RearPort = 8081
DefaultProxy = http://192.168.32.1:80

in Privoxy:

Code:
...
listen-address 127.0.0.1:8118
...
forward / 192.168.32.1:80
...

In this form, everything works. But there is one problem, sometimes you need to add some sites to ProxHTTPSProxyMII in the [SSL Pass-Thru] section, because they do not work through the proxy. For example, I added http://www.google.com. As a result, I get google website not working. The error message appears: "[Errno 11004] getaddrinfo failed: https://www.google.com:443/", as if it could not resolve http://www.google.com. The problem is that http://www.google.com on this computer resolves normally if I register only the corporate proxy in the browser. Well, if you do not add anything to the [SSL Pass-Thru] section, it also works. Because it was just an example, then I add other sites there, but they do not work anyway. The question is, why does a site added to the [SSL Pass-Thru] section stop working? In the network settings of the network card, the IP address of the gateway is specified manually (it matches the proxy) and the ip address of this computer.

Does not work (in the [SSL Pass-Thru] section):
[Image: 619ed645d21c.png]

Works:
[Image: b1194d9619a1.png]
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2019, 04:01 AM
Post: #348
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
(Oct. 03, 2019 07:28 PM)vlad_s Wrote:  The question is, why does a site added to the [SSL Pass-Thru] section stop working?

I think there is at least one bug in ProxHTTPSProxyMII.

In my tests over the last several hours on Win10, adding a site to the [SSL Pass-Thru] section may also bypass the DefaultProxy.

If true, sites you added to [SSL Pass-Thru] may not work because the corporate proxy isn't being used.

(Oct. 03, 2019 07:28 PM)vlad_s Wrote:  Access to the Internet is possible only through the corporate proxy 192.168.32.1:80


If this proxy is also a man-in-the-middle, you may want to add its certificate to ProxHTTPSProxyMII's cacert.pem.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2019, 07:05 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 05, 2019 07:16 PM by vlad_s.)
Post: #349
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
So the sites in the [SSL Pass-Thru] section generally go right despite the setting "DefaultProxy = http://192.168.32.1:80" (I correctly understood that this is for a higher proxy)? That is not pleasant. The corporate proxy does not decrypt the traffic, but simply allows it apparently through the CONNECT method.
And if I add to the [PROXY http://192.168.32.1:80] section (which is not currently available) non-working sites? Can this help?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 06, 2019, 04:18 AM (This post was last modified: Oct. 06, 2019 08:24 PM by JJoe.)
Post: #350
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
(Oct. 05, 2019 07:05 PM)vlad_s Wrote:  And if I add to the [PROXY http://192.168.32.1:80] section (which is not currently available) non-working sites? Can this help?

Doesn't help me.

I should note that, for these tests, I have been using the Proxomitron as a DefaultProxy.

Code:
[GENERAL]
ProxAddr = http://localhost:8081
FrontPort = 8079
RearPort = 8081
DefaultProxy = http://127.0.0.1:8080

Edit: added ", for these tests," for clarity
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 06, 2019, 05:33 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 06, 2019 05:34 PM by vlad_s.)
Post: #351
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
I do not understand what then is DefaultProxy? I am using Privoxy + ProxHTTPSProxyMII. On linux, I use the same thing, but DefaultProxy is not involved in my case (commented out). The scheme on Windows 7 is used elsewhere, but there, as I already described, has its own proxy and the Internet only works through it. I understood so that DefaultProxy is a parent proxy, i.e. the one that 192.168.32.1:80? If the Internet goes "directly", then you do not need to register any DefaultProxy?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 06, 2019, 08:25 PM
Post: #352
RE: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
(Oct. 06, 2019 05:33 PM)vlad_s Wrote:  I do not understand what then is DefaultProxy?...
I understood so that DefaultProxy is a parent proxy, i.e. the one that 192.168.32.1:80?
If the Internet goes "directly", then you do not need to register any DefaultProxy?

This is correct. Looks like you understand.

(Oct. 06, 2019 04:18 AM)JJoe Wrote:  I should note that, for these tests, I have been using the Proxomitron as a DefaultProxy.

Usually, I don't use a DefaultProxy.

I needed to add a DefaultProxy to check for bugs. So, I used the Proxomitron.
This means ProxHTTPSProxyMII FrontPort is directly connected to its RearPort.
Which should work but... I have not extensively tested.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: