Can't access FTP server using Proxo and SeaMonkey 2.10.1
Jun. 19, 2012, 08:40 AM (This post was last modified: Jun. 19, 2012 11:33 PM by JJoe.)
Can't access FTP server using Proxo and SeaMonkey 2.10.1
I've been doing this simple FTP speed test since 2001. It is my favorite because it is on a fast server, not negated by my ISP's use of PowerBoost, whereas, all other speed tests (except for the FCC's SamKnows test which can filter out PowerBoost) return wildly inaccurate results because of PowerBoost and the tests finishing before the PowerBoost effect wears off.

Anyhow, latest SeaMonkey browser gets a "403 forbidden" error when I try to go to http://ftp.ftp1.optonline.net/test64 . I can do this test with no problem on SeaMonkey 2.6 (which I have on my host computer). I also have no problems doing the test on Fx 4.01, Fx 10 Enterprise, IE 8, and Opera 12.0 (all on two computers using XP Pro SP 2). I use the latest Sidki 2011/12 config.

Bypassing Proxo makes no difference. I still get the "403 forbidden" error. The only way I can do the test on the current SeaMonkey is by going to Preferences and changing my internet connection to a direct one. The error message then goes away and I have no problems doing the test. It is not just this test either that gets the error when Proxo is filtering or even on bypass. If I try to look at the contents of the optonline ftp folder, I get the forbidden error but only on the current SeaMonkey.

I can use one of my browsers that doesn't have this problem when I want to do a speed test but I have a strong feeling that Fx 13 may also get the forbidden error if Proxo is in the picture as there is so much shared code now between the two browsers beginning with the current versions.

Anyone here with Fx13 who can see if it has this problem? Any suggestions on how to fix it in SM?

Edit by JJoe: Fixed link by adding space
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Jun. 19, 2012, 11:31 PM