New to Tor/Freecap etc.
May. 06, 2009, 02:42 AM
New to Tor/Freecap etc.
Hi everyone! I'm very new with everything having to do with proxy servers, Tor, etc, and I'm in need of a bit of guidance. I have dled Promomitron, but I don't specifically need it for what I want to accomplish. I'm not sure where else to ask for help and I could definitely use some.

All I'm wanting to do is route an application that doesn't support HTTP/SOCKS through a proxy server. From what I've gathered, all I need to do this is a piece of software like FreeCap or SocksCap and a proxy. Well, here's my first problem.

This is the proxy I'm using, I got it from a googled list of proxies: 67.69.254.247:80 - I believe this is an HTTP proxy, is there any way to tell? It works fine when I plug it into IE and FF manually (in FF, the 'SOCKS 5 radio is always highlighted, which throws me off even more. Is it a SOCK then?) I put this proxy into SocksCap (does SocksCap only support SOCKS proxies?) and add my browsers; they all launch, FF & IE fail to load the page, Opera acts like nothing happened.

Next I used FreeCap; I plugged the proxy in and addded the apps, but IE is the only one that launches (and doesn't work, but I heard somewhere that I wouldn't). No matter what else I add (messenger, mail, games) I get an hourglass when I click "Run" but nothing else comes up.

I dled another one called Proxifier too, but no luck there either. Don't even get me started on Torifying w/ FreeCap (which I'd like to do). Right now I just want to figure out what I'm doing wrong here. Any help in any way is greatly appreciated - I've been reading up on this stuff for days now without any success. If I'm just entirely out of line in posting here, maybe someone could point me towards a more appropriate online community? Anyways, thanks again!

mousetopher
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 08, 2009, 06:35 PM
RE: New to Tor/Freecap etc.