Post Reply 
http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
Jan. 21, 2009, 05:57 AM
Post: #1
http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
Anyone else having trouble with this page:
http://www.cnn.com/TECH/

I am using IE8 RC1 here, but I expect any browser will problems. For me, the page is mostly blank.

Adding this line to Include-ExcludeU fixes it:
Code:
[^/]++cnn.com/        $SET(0=a_jsmeth.)

I hope there is a better solution.

DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Jan. 21, 2009, 01:16 PM
Post: #2
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
Displays okay here in IE6 and IE7.

Edit: However! Just got that blank page at http://www.cnn.com/WORLD/ . Checking...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Jan. 21, 2009, 05:09 PM
Post: #3
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
It seems to be cookie-controlled interstitial code, hiding "body *":
Code:
<style type="text/css" id="interstitialcss912707">
    body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe
    {
        display:block !important;
    }
    body *
    {
        display:none;
    }
    body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe
    {
        display:block !important;
    }
</style>

...followed by a blocked ad script, that turns body display on again:
Code:
var styleNode = document.getElementById('interstitialcss' + adId);
styleNode.parentNode.removeChild(styleNode);


Maybe it's worth a shot to do just the same as above script by having the site-specific container killer also look for style tags:
-> attachment

And then replace the old AdKeys-S entry:
Code:
[^.]+.cnn.com/            $SET(sAdKey=.cnnCeilAd.cnnContextualLinks
  .cnnNavAd.cnnSCRightColumn.contextualLinks.MagOF.)

...with:
Code:
[^.]+.cnn.com/            $SET(sAdKey=.cnnRR336ad.interstitial.MagOF.)


Some other things have changed as well as CNN, so i've replaced the old IncludeExclude entry:
Code:
## CNN
## ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[^.]+.cnn.com/video/    $SET(0=a_adscr.a_jslink.i_timer:0.)
i.l.cnn.net/cnn/video/    $SET(0=a_flash.a_adfn2.)

...with
Code:
## CNN
## ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[^.]+.cnn.com/(video/$SET(0=i_timer:0.)|$SET(1=ban_1:0.))
i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/*/video/    $SET(0=a_flash.a_adfn1.a_adfn2.)


Attached File(s)
.txt  spec-containers-test.txt (Size: 1.84 KB / Downloads: 681)
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Jan. 21, 2009, 06:03 PM
Post: #4
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
Hi Sidki,

Thanks for those changes. CNN is working fine once again! Smile!

DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 21, 2010, 12:46 AM
Post: #5
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
The new code shown above was released in the last published filter set, but since then, on my system, the CNN tech page and other main section pages still appear completely white and blank.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 21, 2010, 10:36 AM
Post: #6
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
It's very slow to load here, but other than that it all works fine.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 22, 2010, 10:22 AM
Post: #7
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
Works for me too.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 25, 2010, 03:17 AM
Post: #8
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
So I still need help!

At bottom left of the /TECH page I see these Prox indicators:
js in > Partial Ad: Adkey.2 referrer - frame - 623 - B
site > ban_1: 0 AdKey: .cnnRR336ad.interstitial.MagOF.
Flash > Toggle 1 Flash Object(s)

My AdKeys-S.ptxt file has the following line:
[^.]+.cnn.com/ $SET(sAdKey=.cnnRR336ad.interstitial.MagOF.)

Any idea what could be wrong?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 25, 2010, 05:24 AM
Post: #9
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
(Jan. 21, 2009 05:09 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  It seems to be cookie-controlled interstitial code, hiding "body *":
Code:
<style type="text/css" id="interstitialcss912707">
    body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe
    {
        display:block !important;
    }
    body *
    {
        display:none;
    }
    body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe
    {
        display:block !important;
    }
</style>

...followed by a blocked ad script, that turns body display on again:
Code:
var styleNode = document.getElementById('interstitialcss' + adId);
styleNode.parentNode.removeChild(styleNode);

I see, unfiltered (some space removed)

Code:
<!-- ADSPACE: technology/main/top.1x1 -->
<script type='text/javascript'>
document.write('<style type="text/css" id="interstitialcss917468">\n' +
    'body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe\n' +
    '{\n' +
    '    display:block !important;\n' +
    '}\n' +
    'body *\n' +
    '{\n' +
    '    display:none;\n' +
    '}\n' +
    'body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe\n' +
    '{\n' +
    '    display:block !important;\n' +
    '}\n' +
'</style>');
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
cnnad_startInterstitial(917468,"http://ads.cnn.com/html.ng/site=cnn&cnn_pagetype=main&cnn_position=1x1_top&cnn_rollup=technology&params.styles=fs_interstitial");
</script>
<!-- begin header -->

Debug looks like (some space removed)

Code:
<!-- ADSPACE: technology/main/top.1x1 -->
<script type='text/javascript'>
document.write('
<Match: Manage: Specific Containers on sel. Sites     09.07.16 [sd] (d.0) >
<style type="text/css" id="interstitialcss917468">
</Match>
<span class=Pr0x&#x20;Pr0xCntS style=display:none>&#8226;&#160;SiteSpec-style-hidden: id interstitialcss917468
</span><style id=interstitialcss917468 style=display:none!important>\n' +
    'body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe\n' +
    '{\n' +
    '    display:block !important;\n' +
    '}\n' +
    'body *\n' +
    '{\n' +
    '    display:none;\n' +
    '}\n' +
    'body div.interstitial, body div.interstitial iframe\n' +
    '{\n' +
    '    display:block !important;\n' +
    '}\n' +
'</style>');
</script>
<Match: <script> Block: Ad Scripts - Content     09.07.04 [pr sd jd] (d.2) >
<script type="text/javascript">
cnnad_startInterstitial(917468,"http://ads.cnn.com/html.ng/site=cnn&cnn_pagetype=main&cnn_position=1x1_top&cnn_rollup=technology&params.styles=fs_interstitial");
</Match>
<script type="text/javascript" src="data:text/javascript,var%20prxCountAd%3D++prxCountAd%7C%7C1%3B">
cnnad_startInterstitial(917468,"http://ads.cnn.com/html.ng/site=cnn&cnn_pagetype=main&cnn_position=1x1_top&cnn_rollup=technology&params.styles=fs_interstitial");
</script>

If I

Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "http://www.cnn.com/TECH/ test"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)www.cnn.com/TECH/"
Limit = 2560
Match = "<!-- ADSPACE: technology/main/top.1x1 -->*"
        "<!-- begin header -->$STOP()"

it shows.

SIDKI 2009-05-24 ALPHA 4 and I'm not sure that I am current.

And sleep mode.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 25, 2010, 03:33 PM
Post: #10
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
Ahh, ok. I was checking this site with my personal config, but not with alpha 4, sorry.
Apparently below previously updated filter has fixed that issue by accident. Let me know, if not.

Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "<!> Remove: Comment-Block Ads II     10.06.06 [sd] (d.3 l.3)"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TST(hCT=*html)(^$TST(keyword=*.(a_ads|a_adcomm2|i_level:[12]).*))"
Limit = 4500
Match = "<!--[ ]+(^PROX[:-]|/|end|$TST(tNoscript=1))$TST(comment=1)$TST(mHead=(^head)\6)"
        "[^a-z0-9'"\r\n]+("
        "(ad|[^>\r\n]++{0,60}[^a-z0-9:]ad)((s|)[0-9]+(^[a-z]| [,&+])|space|vert|x)[^>\r\n]++ -- >"
        "&&(^"
        "no|google_ad_(region|section)_start|(*[^a-z]|)end|*[^a-z]no(ne|t[^a-z])"
        "|*(logo|above|masthea+d|[a-z]banner|finish|\s(and|except|with|/)\s)"
        ")*"
        ") (<br /+> )+"
        "("
        "(<(br /+|p)> )+$NEST(<table,</(table)\2 >) (<br /+> )+"
        "|$NEST(<script,</(script)\2*>) ($NEST(<script,</script*>) )+(<noscript*</noscript > |)"
        "|$NEST(<iframe,</(iframe)\2 >)"
        "|$NEST(<center,</(center)\2 >)"
        ")"
        ""
        "&(<!-[^a-z0-9'"]+(([^*#-]|-(^-)|\*(^\*)|#(^#))+{2,60})\3([^*#](^- >)$SET(5=...)|)*-- >)\1"
        "&(^$TST(eAdCommII=*§$TST(\3)§*))$SET(eAdCommII=$GET(eAdCommII)§\3§)"
        "&$SET(eAdComm=$GET(eAdComm)"
        "%3Cspan class=%22Pr0xFly-Span%22%3E\6 II:%3C/span%3E"
        "   \2: $ESC(\3)\5%3Cbr class=%22Pr0xFly-Br%22 /%3E"
        ")"
        "$SET(4=$TST(keyword=(^$TST(tFrameset=*))*.i_level:5.*)"
        "<span class="Pr0x Pr0xComment" style="display:$GET(displayD)">"
        "&#8226;&#160;Comment&#160;II: \2: \3\5</span>"
        ")"
        "($TST(volat=*.log:2*)$ADDLST(Log-Main,[$DTM(d T)]\tWEB Comment II\t\6 \t\2 \t\3\5 \t\u)|)"
Replace = "$SET(comment=)\1\r\n\4$SET(i=)"

People using the config's light or minimal mode may need to add [^.]+.cnn.com/ $SET(0=i_level:3.0.) to their user lists.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 26, 2010, 05:17 AM (This post was last modified: Aug. 26, 2010 05:18 AM by wammie.)
Post: #11
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
(Aug. 25, 2010 03:33 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  Ahh, ok. I was checking this site with my personal config, but not with alpha 4, sorry.
Apparently below previously updated filter has fixed that issue by accident. Let me know, if not.

Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "<!> Remove: Comment-Block Ads II     10.06.06 [sd] (d.3 l.3)"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TST(hCT=*html)(^$TST(keyword=*.(a_ads|a_adcomm2|i_level:[12]).*))"
Limit = 4500
Match = "<!--[ ]+(^PROX[:-]|/|end|$TST(tNoscript=1))$TST(comment=1)$TST(mHead=(^head)\6)"
        "[^a-z0-9'"\r\n]+("
        "(ad|[^>\r\n]++{0,60}[^a-z0-9:]ad)((s|)[0-9]+(^[a-z]| [,&+])|space|vert|x)[^>\r\n]++ -- >"
        "&&(^"
        "no|google_ad_(region|section)_start|(*[^a-z]|)end|*[^a-z]no(ne|t[^a-z])"
        "|*(logo|above|masthea+d|[a-z]banner|finish|\s(and|except|with|/)\s)"
        ")*"
        ") (<br /+> )+"
        "("
        "(<(br /+|p)> )+$NEST(<table,</(table)\2 >) (<br /+> )+"
        "|$NEST(<script,</(script)\2*>) ($NEST(<script,</script*>) )+(<noscript*</noscript > |)"
        "|$NEST(<iframe,</(iframe)\2 >)"
        "|$NEST(<center,</(center)\2 >)"
        ")"
        ""
        "&(<!-[^a-z0-9'"]+(([^*#-]|-(^-)|\*(^\*)|#(^#))+{2,60})\3([^*#](^- >)$SET(5=...)|)*-- >)\1"
        "&(^$TST(eAdCommII=*§$TST(\3)§*))$SET(eAdCommII=$GET(eAdCommII)§\3§)"
        "&$SET(eAdComm=$GET(eAdComm)"
        "%3Cspan class=%22Pr0xFly-Span%22%3E\6 II:%3C/span%3E"
        "   \2: $ESC(\3)\5%3Cbr class=%22Pr0xFly-Br%22 /%3E"
        ")"
        "$SET(4=$TST(keyword=(^$TST(tFrameset=*))*.i_level:5.*)"
        "<span class="Pr0x Pr0xComment" style="display:$GET(displayD)">"
        "&#8226;&#160;Comment&#160;II: \2: \3\5</span>"
        ")"
        "($TST(volat=*.log:2*)$ADDLST(Log-Main,[$DTM(d T)]\tWEB Comment II\t\6 \t\2 \t\3\5 \t\u)|)"
Replace = "$SET(comment=)\1\r\n\4$SET(i=)"

People using the config's light or minimal mode may need to add [^.]+.cnn.com/ $SET(0=i_level:3.0.) to their user lists.
I've been operating in light mode. I tried the replacement filter suggested above for "Remove: Comment-Block Ads II" and adding the line for cnn.com in my IncludeExclude-U file, but the problem remains. :-(

I'm using the June, 2009 filter set (latest fixes) and I have not done any customizations.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 26, 2010, 02:03 PM
Post: #12
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
(Aug. 26, 2010 05:17 AM)wammie Wrote:  adding the line for cnn.com in my IncludeExclude-U file, but the problem remains. :-(

I'm using the June, 2009 filter set (latest fixes) and I have not done any customizations.

Use the IncludeExclude-U entry and try changing $TST(hCT=*html) to $TYPE(htm) like

Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "<!> Remove: Comment-Block Ads II     10.06.06 [sd] (d.3 l.3) **mod**"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)(^$TST(keyword=*.(a_ads|a_adcomm2|i_level:[12]).*))"
Limit = 4500
Match = "<!--[ ]+(^PROX[:-]|/|end|$TST(tNoscript=1))$TST(comment=1)$TST(mHead=(^head)\6)"
        "[^a-z0-9'"\r\n]+("
        "(ad|[^>\r\n]++{0,60}[^a-z0-9:]ad)((s|)[0-9]+(^[a-z]| [,&+])|space|vert|x)[^>\r\n]++ -- >"
        "&&(^"
        "no|google_ad_(region|section)_start|(*[^a-z]|)end|*[^a-z]no(ne|t[^a-z])"
        "|*(logo|above|masthea+d|[a-z]banner|finish|\s(and|except|with|/)\s)"
        ")*"
        ") (<br /+> )+"
        "("
        "(<(br /+|p)> )+$NEST(<table,</(table)\2 >) (<br /+> )+"
        "|$NEST(<script,</(script)\2*>) ($NEST(<script,</script*>) )+(<noscript*</noscript > |)"
        "|$NEST(<iframe,</(iframe)\2 >)"
        "|$NEST(<center,</(center)\2 >)"
        ")"
        ""
        "&(<!-[^a-z0-9'"]+(([^*#-]|-(^-)|\*(^\*)|#(^#))+{2,60})\3([^*#](^- >)$SET(5=...)|)*-- >)\1"
        "&(^$TST(eAdCommII=*§$TST(\3)§*))$SET(eAdCommII=$GET(eAdCommII)§\3§)"
        "&$SET(eAdComm=$GET(eAdComm)"
        "%3Cspan class=%22Pr0xFly-Span%22%3E\6 II:%3C/span%3E"
        "   \2: $ESC(\3)\5%3Cbr class=%22Pr0xFly-Br%22 /%3E"
        ")"
        "$SET(4=$TST(keyword=(^$TST(tFrameset=*))*.i_level:5.*)"
        "<span class="Pr0x Pr0xComment" style="display:$GET(displayD)">"
        "&#8226;&#160;Comment&#160;II: \2: \3\5</span>"
        ")"
        "($TST(volat=*.log:2*)$ADDLST(Log-Main,[$DTM(d T)]\tWEB Comment II\t\6 \t\2 \t\3\5 \t\u)|)"
Replace = "$SET(comment=)\1\r\n\4$SET(i=)"
.

HTH
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Aug. 27, 2010, 12:45 AM
Post: #13
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
(Aug. 26, 2010 02:03 PM)JJoe Wrote:  
(Aug. 26, 2010 05:17 AM)wammie Wrote:  adding the line for cnn.com in my IncludeExclude-U file, but the problem remains. :-(

I'm using the June, 2009 filter set (latest fixes) and I have not done any customizations.

Use the IncludeExclude-U entry and try changing $TST(hCT=*html) to $TYPE(htm) like...
HTH
JJoe, you're a genius! It works!!! Haven't been able to access those pages for over a year; had to use another browser. Thanks very much. PROX ROCKS!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 24, 2010, 02:17 AM
Post: #14
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
So... according to this post, the next config set won't have a built-in solution for cnn/tech and cnn/[some other] pages that don't display in minimal or light modes?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 24, 2010, 04:57 AM
Post: #15
RE: http://www.cnn.com/TECH/
No program can do what each person wants for every situation.
There has to be a place to start from.

Does adding

Code:
www.cnn.com/  $SET(sComment=§<ADSPACE:§>begin)

to Exceptions-U fix all pages and break none?

If it does, wouldn't this be a better choice than forcing all users to a specific level?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: