(Help) Proxomitron for Mac OS X
Oct. 20, 2009, 08:07 AM
(Help) Proxomitron for Mac OS X
help me...I need proxomitron for OS X I'm using OS X ideneb 10.5.8...anyone have?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 21, 2009, 05:53 AM
RE: (Help) Proxomitron for Mac OS X
Proxomitron runs only on Windows, not on Mac OS. If you want to block ads when browsing, you could use the Safari Block add-on for Safari or the Adblock Plus extension for Firefox. There are supposed to be some filtering extensions for Firefox that filter headers to some extent, but the last time I tried them, I was definitely not impressed with them.
You could also try BFilter for Mac. I am using it. It is here:
http://bfilter.sourceforge.net/download.php
Oct. 21, 2009, 12:15 PM
Well ... I've been running Proxomitron in Linux distros using Wine for quite a while (a few years).

Intel Macs can also run Wine, so I suggest that Proxomitron should then be able to run.

Here's a quote from WineHQ:

Quote:Current Status (x86)

Brief: Wine works beautifully (on Leopard at least, with nVidia 9400M graphics).

For Snow Leopard (Mac OS X 10.6), see: Installing Wine on Mac OS X

I've never owned a Mac so I don't have personal experience, but there are several tutorials and articles available (maybe even on this forum?).
Here's one such article that looks decent:

http://davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/

Good luck.
Oct. 22, 2009, 05:48 AM
I would think that Prox running under Wine would be a bottleneck to the page loading speed.
Oct. 22, 2009, 09:14 AM
(Oct. 22, 2009 05:48 AM)Siamesecat Wrote:  I would think that Prox running under Wine would be a bottleneck to the page loading speed.

You would think. Unless you tried it. Smile!