Post Reply 
Yahoo Filters...
Feb. 09, 2009, 03:23 PM
Post: #16
RE: Yahoo Filters...
oooh...

i don't get that ugly block, i assume it's because i'm automatically being logged in and my actual "bookmarked" shortcut is:
Code:
http://https-px-.login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=my&.done=http://my.yahoo.com&.intl=us
in part because it *takes me to* MY.yahoo.com instead of where Yahoo "wants" me to go, lol...

udate: ah yes, i get the "nux-container" if i click to before auto-logging in... and i see that the sign-in link is *NOW* taking me to MY.yahoo.com... when Yahoo was *ram-rodding* the new beta homepage down our throats, it was taking me to some random-number.yahoo.com or something like that, don't recall offhand...

then the "[email protected]@rds" stop updating scores on the "old" my.yahoo and the ONLY way we could get Yahoo to "function" any more was to "accept" their POC "beta" frontpage...

blah... <okay, i feel better now...>
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 03:35 PM
Post: #17
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 09, 2009 03:08 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  What's worse, clicking either "Yes, please!" or "No, thanks." to make it disappear, results in a "YAHOO is not defined" JS error. Maybe i can fix it...

i'm afraid JS errors are over-my-head...
once i get my fingers wrapped around the Yahoo filters more comfortably, i'm sure i could debug the JS errors then, but i better leave this one to you else i mangle it too badly Big Teeth
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 04:01 PM
Post: #18
RE: Yahoo Filters...
I was wrong regarding the JS error, it's a required webbug. No Expression
Code:
[2009-2-9 16:32:37]    WEB Bug img 1x1     "+A.src+' width="1"     http://l.yimg.com/a/lib/my/js/core_0.1.250.js

I don't know if they also use [abcde].yimg.com, but i'd like to keep the bypass expression as narrow as possible.

IncludeExclude.ptxt:
Code:
l.yimg.com/a/lib/my/    $SET(0=a_bug.)

The "nux-container" block doesn't seem to be needed at all. Clicking "New Tab" or "Change Appearance" - which also require mentioned webbug - appears to do the same. (Only quick-tested!)

Now, as for handling these two blocks, "help-link-wrap" and "nux-container", i'd say kill them (as long as Yahoo is not changing the code frequently), because it's a very popular frontpage. But that's just me. Although i do use some Yahoo services, i wouldn't consider myself as a Yahoo Web Interface user.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 04:46 PM
Post: #19
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 09, 2009 04:01 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  I was wrong regarding the JS error, it's a required webbug. No Expression

Wrong again. It is a JS error, caused by the webbug filter, getting the quotes wrong while defusing a true positive.
Code:
var C="<img src="+A.src+' width="1" height="1" alt="" border="0" />';

That doesn't change posted work-around, though.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 05:14 PM
Post: #20
RE: Yahoo Filters...
the "help-link-wrap" has been there for two months "at least"...
i'm not sure how long the "nux-container" has been there...
i'm going to axe both and change my shortcut to be more watchful of possible changes...

updated filter (going to start use Kye-U's style of date-coding for "pre-official" releases):
Code:
Name = "Yahoo: Clean up Site     7.09.07 [sd] (d.s) {po 2/9/09 v2}"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)(^([^.]+.|)search.yahoo)[^/]++.yahoo.co(^$TST(keyword=*.a_code.*))"
Limit = 16384
Match = "<table("
        "[^>]+>("
        "([^>]+>)+{3} (sponsored [a-z]+)\3(*</table >&&(^*<t(r|able))*)"
        "( <table[^<]+<tr(*</table >&&(^*<t(r|able))*))+ $NEST(<table,</table >)$SET(1=table-1-\3)"
        "|([^>]+>)++{1,5} (advertisem[a-z]+)\3 <"
        "$INEST(<table,</table)</table >$SET(1=table-2-\3)"
        ")"
        "|[^>]++\s(width=[#750][^>]++height=([#112])\1|id=$AV(yfncbrobtn)$SET(1=Finance Top Ads))"
        "$INEST(<table,</table)</table >"
        ")"
        ""
        "|<td[^>]++("
        "class=$AV((ymapttd)\1|ygma$SET(1=+)*)$INEST(<td,</td)</td >"
        "|id=$AV(ygma(^greet)*)$SET(1=Search Bar)$INEST(<td,</td)</td >"
        ")"
        ""
        "|<div(^$TST(script=*))[^>]++("
        "class=("
        "$AV((ydirspns)\3)(*</div >&&(^*<div)*)$SET(1=solo \3)"
        "|$AV((ad|lrec|m(d m|)inimantle*|ovt*|sponsor*|yad-*|ynw-(ov-box|rt-art-bd-ad)|yshp_ad_*|ysm)\3)"
        "$INEST(<div,</div)</div >$SET(1=c \3)"
        ")"
        "|id=("
        "$AV(("
        "help-link-wrap|nux-container|"
        "adlrec|ks-ypn-ads|marketplace|mantlecx|minimantle|news-sponsor|nns|northad|southad|spnsr"
        "|spons[oe]red*|srec|swads|ws_ie7|yat(gad|ad_*)|ydireast|yfi_(pf_)+(ad*|ysm)|ygmatop|ymadbn"
        "|ymap(clad|ead|nad|west|footer)[0-9]+|eyebrow$SET(2=<div style="line-height:7px">&nbsp;</div>"
        "<div id="eyebrow" style="display:none"><br id="sethomepage" /></div>)"
        ")\3)$INEST(<div,</div)</div >$SET(1=i \3)"
        "|$AV(footer)$SET(3=p)(*> )\#($INEST(<div,</div)&&("
        "*(<(ul|span)\3 id=$AV(copyright)*</$TST(\3) > |<p[ >]*</p > )\#)+{1,*}*"
        ")$SET(1=bot-\3)$SET(2=<div id="footer"\@)"
        ")"
        ")"
        ""
        "|<!-- (start north banner -*- end (north banner)\1|overtur(e*)\3 -*- / (overtur$TST(\3))\1) -- >"
        ""
        "|<script(^$TST(comment=[12]))("
        "(^[^>]++src=)[^>]+> $INEST(<script,?+{20}*,</script)</script > $NEST(<script,</script > )+"
        "$NEST(<noscript,*/(/((row|us).(bc)\1|??.(ard)\1).yahoo.com|(M)\1\=[0-9][0-9]+.[0-9]+.)*,</noscript >)"
        "|[^>]+> var ADF(adids)\1*</script >"
        ")"
        "&($TST(volat=*.log:2*)$ADDLST(Log-Main,[$DTM(d T)]\tSiteSpec Yahoo \1 \t\u)|)"
Replace = "\r\n<!-- PROX-S: Removed by Yahoo Cleaner (\1) -->\r\n\2"
          "$SET(sSpec=$GET(sSpec)\1.)"
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 05:38 PM
Post: #21
RE: Yahoo Filters...
Okay, i'll test that version too.


(Feb. 09, 2009 04:01 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  I don't know if they also use [abcde].yimg.com, but i'd like to keep the bypass expression as narrow as possible.

I've found an old note about that very same bug (att.my.yahoo.com, which would be another "help-link-wrap" match). The initial URL string seems to be constant, so...

IncludeExclude.ptxt:
Code:
l.yimg.com/a/lib/my/js/core_    $SET(0=a_bug.)
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 05:43 PM
Post: #22
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 09, 2009 04:01 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  I don't know if they also use [abcde].yimg.com, but i'd like to keep the bypass expression as narrow as possible.

I believe d.yimg.com is being used too (on eurosport.yahoo.com)?

soccerfan
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 05:44 PM
Post: #23
RE: Yahoo Filters...
Code:
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://att.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://au.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://br.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://ca.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://cf.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://cl.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://de.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://es.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://espanol.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://fr.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://it.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://pe.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://qc.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://sg.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://tr.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i help-link-wrap     http://us.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://ca.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://cf.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://de.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://es.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://espanol.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://fr.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://it.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://qc.my.yahoo.com/
SiteSpec Yahoo i nux-container     http://us.my.yahoo.com/

Smile!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 09, 2009, 05:49 PM
Post: #24
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 09, 2009 05:43 PM)soccerfan Wrote:  I believe d.yimg.com is being used too (on eurosport.yahoo.com)?

Hopefully they aren't implementing their beacons (that's how Yahoo calls them) the same way there. Anyway, i'll keep an eye open.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 10, 2009, 01:01 PM
Post: #25
RE: Yahoo Filters...
sidki,

are you seeing finance ads (similar to what we saw on the Toppy-mentioned link) at the bottom of -
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Stock-Prea...05621.html

also, what's your opinion on a filter that converts copyright disclaimers (in general, not just Yahoo) to "flyovers", kind of like our "timer box flyovers"... hover the copyright flyover, the site's copyright disclaimer appears?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 10, 2009, 02:28 PM
Post: #26
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 10, 2009 01:01 PM)ProxRocks Wrote:  sidki,

are you seeing finance ads (similar to what we saw on the Toppy-mentioned link) at the bottom of -
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Stock-Prea...05621.html

I do (class="mod ysm clear"), not always though. It doesn't have an ID, but IIRC "ysm" stands for "yahoo sponsored messages". "ysm" is already in, but the filter's class expression is testing the entire attribute value. To keep it quick, i think, better a new entry, e.g. "mod ysm*", instead of wildcarding the old one.


Quote:also, what's your opinion on a filter that converts copyright disclaimers (in general, not just Yahoo) to "flyovers", kind of like our "timer box flyovers"... hover the copyright flyover, the site's copyright disclaimer appears?

Sounds like a nice gadget (and space saver). Smile!

Finding a generic matching expression might be not so easy.

For flyovers you may need to $ESCape the string. Disclaimers can be large. $ESC has a byte limit, i've forgot the actual value, but i've touched it, when writing the "cookies" flyover, so i had to split the string and use multiple $ESC commands.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 10, 2009, 03:04 PM
Post: #27
RE: Yahoo Filters...
okay, i'll start looking for log-rare entries with "mod ysm*"...

as for the copyright space-saver (my definite end-in-mind, i swear, some sites have copyright disclaimers that take up 40% of my 1024x768 [[email protected] Intel 82845 won't go a lick higher] viewing pane), to avoid the $ESC limit, perhaps placing the content into a toggled textarea/iframe ???

i can start working on a copyright space-saver if you feel something like that is a config candidate...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 10, 2009, 04:46 PM
Post: #28
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 10, 2009 03:04 PM)ProxRocks Wrote:  to avoid the $ESC limit, perhaps placing the content into a toggled textarea/iframe ???

Worth a try, especially if stand-alone.

If integrated into the config (or as plugin, see below), you can also consider a very easy way to create a new bottom flyover link: Just append your code and captured string to the "dAll" global variable. See "<meta> Remove: PICS-Label - Show in Footer" for an example. In latter filter the captured string is inserted with "$ESC(\1)".


Quote:i can start working on a copyright space-saver if you feel something like that is a config candidate...

It's really impossible to say in advance. If it matches often enough, fails quickly, and doesn't break pages, it could be an attractive addition.


But there's also another possibility: a plugin system!

I'm tending more and more towards something like lnminente's base config.
Over the past weeks i've removed 5 site-specific filters (neither Y! nor Google, of course), ~30 AdKeys-S entries, ~100 IncludeExcude entries.

Since the need of a site-specific solution often is a matter of taste, such filters would be good candidates. But that's trivial, and almost everyone is adding them already! Smile!

However, since plugins don't need to be stand-alone, you could also use the framework that's already there, e.g. flyover or toggle functions.

You could even enhance the Prox menu with a plugin filter, or let the user choose, which components the menu should have (cf. Lee's "inflexible menu" complaint).

Also, the user would not need to worry about compatibility, because it has been tested.

Maintenance would be in the responsibility of the plugin authors, of course. They could update their stuff entirely independent of config updates, or me being available.


As a start i'm adding an empty web filter section, "User Filters", right now. Smile!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 10, 2009, 08:17 PM
Post: #29
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 10, 2009 04:46 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  I'm tending more and more towards something like lnminente's base config.

Glad to hear it Sidki, there are really big filters like this one of yahoo wich could be easy maintained and zipped to one or two ad-container filters wich would share a adkey list where we could add a $TST for uHost=\w.yahoo.com

EDIT: I removed my filters for adcontainers because i detected a error in nesting, when i solve it i will post it again in a new thread for not hijacking here
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Feb. 11, 2009, 12:30 PM
Post: #30
RE: Yahoo Filters...
(Feb. 10, 2009 02:28 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  
(Feb. 10, 2009 01:01 PM)ProxRocks Wrote:  sidki,

are you seeing finance ads (similar to what we saw on the Toppy-mentioned link) at the bottom of -
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Stock-Prea...05621.html

I do (class="mod ysm clear"), not always though. It doesn't have an ID, but IIRC "ysm" stands for "yahoo sponsored messages". "ysm" is already in, but the filter's class expression is testing the entire attribute value. To keep it quick, i think, better a new entry, e.g. "mod ysm*", instead of wildcarding the old one.


i've not had any success at targeting that intermittent ad... Sad
although i've also not seen it on two or more other URL's...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: