The Un-Official Proxomitron Forum
Preventing new tabs from opening - Printable Version

+- The Un-Official Proxomitron Forum (https://www.prxbx.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Proxomitron Config Sets (/forumdisplay.php?fid=43)
+--- Forum: Sidki (/forumdisplay.php?fid=44)
+--- Thread: Preventing new tabs from opening (/showthread.php?tid=2081)



Preventing new tabs from opening - mono3 - Feb. 23, 2013 05:30 PM

When I click in the searchbox on isohunt.com or click a search result on thepiratebay.se, a new tab opens for junk advertising (might be a popup but I have them set to open new tabs). What is doing this and how to disable them? Using IE9 + sidki

Edit by JJoe: "priate" to "pirate"


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - scoop - Feb. 24, 2013 07:05 PM

Yes doing this for me too


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - JJoe - Feb. 24, 2013 10:15 PM

isohunt's popup begins with this

Code:
<script src="http://isohits.com/apu.php?zoneid=anumber&lim=anumber"></script>

on isohunt.com, if ad request is generated, response is a 302 redirect with a location header that points to ad.

Try adding

Code:
# isohunt first visit popup
isohits.com/  $TST(keyword=*.i_script:12.*)

to AdHosts-J.

Will check piratebay later.

HTH


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - JJoe - Feb. 25, 2013 05:59 PM

(Feb. 24, 2013 10:15 PM)JJoe Wrote:  Will check piratebay later.

Try adding

Code:
# thepiratebay.se 13.02.25
[^.]+.adexprt.com/  $TST(keyword=*.i_script:12.*)

to AdHosts-J. 

HTH


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - mono3 - Mar. 01, 2013 06:48 PM

(Feb. 24, 2013 10:15 PM)JJoe Wrote:  Try adding

Code:
# isohunt first visit popup
isohits.com/  $TST(keyword=*.i_script:12.*)

to AdHosts-J.

This worked for a day but I guess they changed it since I get a new tab again.

Is there a more generic way to prevent the automatic opening of new tabs?


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - JJoe - Mar. 02, 2013 05:29 AM

(Mar. 01, 2013 06:48 PM)mono3 Wrote:  This worked for a day but I guess they changed it since I get a new tab again.

Still works for me. There is also https://isohits.com.
For the https site you would need to filter https and add

Code:
isohits.com:  $TST(keyword=*.i_script:12.*)

to AdHosts-J.

(Mar. 01, 2013 06:48 PM)mono3 Wrote:  Is there a more generic way

I'm not sure or sure that we want to.

You could add

Code:
clickAnywhere & $TST(hOrigRef=https+://isohunt.com*)

to AdKeys-J. but "clickAnywhere" could change.

HTH


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - ProxRocks - Mar. 02, 2013 11:14 AM

(Feb. 23, 2013 05:30 PM)mono3 Wrote:  When I click in the searchbox on isohunt.com or click a search result on thepiratebay.se, a new tab opens for junk advertising (might be a popup but I have them set to open new tabs). What is doing this and how to disable them? Using IE9 + sidki

Edit by JJoe: "priate" to "pirate"

both of these are EXTREMELY *EASY* to axe...
no need to add any entries to anything, no IncExc-U, no ad-J, nothing, no entries needed at all...

yes, "scripts" are about as 'partisan' as asking a web user what their favorite web browser is, but seriously, this "paranoid" web user really doesn't "get" why so many other people will throw a blanket of TRUST over the entire web and ALLOW javascript by default...


enabling ONE filter will fix BOTH of these popup POS's...
and will do so not only on these TWO web sites, but another HUNDRED you just haven't landed on yet...


ENABLE ! |||||||||||| 7.1 Block all Scripts 10.10.16 [sd] (o.3) (Out)...


whoala, problem solved Smile!


no need to make it so "difficult" as tracking down Ad-J entries or picking out an EXACT "word" that triggers the 'script'...

BOTH of these sites work WITHOUT scripts enabled - why the blanket of trust?


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - mono3 - Mar. 02, 2013 05:22 PM

(Mar. 02, 2013 11:14 AM)ProxRocks Wrote:  ENABLE ! |||||||||||| 7.1 Block all Scripts 10.10.16 [sd] (o.3) (Out)...

I just have too many problems when all scripts are blocked. Some sites do work, but I waste so much time on other sites with things that don't work.

I guess I just wanted a generic way to disable the "open new tab" (or popup) more comprehensively, while allowing the rest of the script.

I am filtering https now and JJoe's fix is working.


RE: Preventing new tabs from opening - ProxRocks - Mar. 02, 2013 11:56 PM

understood...

i use a toolbar button that reloads the page when the RARE situation arises that i "need" scripts, so it's just a push of a button on this end Smile!

i see it as erroring on the side of CAUTION...
blocking the scripts BEFORE they do their "harm"...

i land on far too many "unknown" pages throughout the day to just "trust" them 'blindly' Smile!