The Un-Official Proxomitron Forum

Full Version: ProxHTTPSProxyMII: Reloaded
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22
(Jan. 08, 2015 01:21 AM)whenever Wrote: [ -> ]Please comment out all lines under [PROXY http://192.168.178.8:8123] section.

They are there to demo how parent proxy is used. From next version I will make them commented out by default.

BTW, you should change "Tagged:Proxomitron" to "Tagged:ProxHTTPSProxyMII" in the BypassURL line of your Proxo config file.

Done both and now everything works fine Cheers
Btw the "Tagged:Proxomitron" was from a cut-and-paste in post #33
(I should have just stuck to the code in your very first post; still learning Sad ).
The Proxomitron menu is not showing up on https pages for me. Also, when I put ?prx-command=dbug.. at the end of the url it either doesn't work, as with this page, or it shows the dbug text with no color coding as with this page.

Possibly related to the color issue: the visited links color as set in proxcss-links.css doesn't seem to be working on https pages.
Yeah, maybe https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs...gin_policy disallows that, because browser nowaday will not run js, css content that is http in https site.

If you use Firefox, you can turn that off, but Chrome, other browser cannot turn that of.
(Jan. 09, 2015 02:11 AM)zoltan Wrote: [ -> ]The Proxomitron menu is not showing up on https pages for me. Also, when I put ?prx-command=dbug.. at the end of the url it either doesn't work, as with this page, or it shows the dbug text with no color coding as with this page.

Possibly related to the color issue: the visited links color as set in proxcss-links.css doesn't seem to be working on https pages.

Try http://prxbx.com/forums/showthread.php?t...6#pid17966
and set "security.mixed_content.block_active_content" in "about:config" to "false"

Code:
security.mixed_content.block_active_content;false

about:config in Firefox's address field>>"mixed" in "Search:" field>>double click "security.mixed_content.block_active_content"

(Jan. 09, 2015 02:11 AM)zoltan Wrote: [ -> ]when I put ?prx-command=dbug.. at the end of the url it either doesn't work, as with this page,

Works for me. What happens when it doesn't work?
(Jan. 09, 2015 07:56 AM)GunGunGun Wrote: [ -> ]If you use Firefox, you can turn that off, but Chrome, other browser cannot turn that of.

Chromium based browsers may use command line switches, http://peter.sh/experiments/chromium-com...-switches/ .
"--allow-running-insecure-content" allows http on https pages.

For IE11 it is the "Display mixed content" setting, Internet Options>>Security>>Internet>>Custom level>>Display mixed content
(Jan. 09, 2015 04:37 PM)JJoe Wrote: [ -> ]Try http://prxbx.com/forums/showthread.php?t...6#pid17966
and set "security.mixed_content.block_active_content" in "about:config" to "false"

I made the suggested changes. The menu is back! (er... except on this site but seems to be an exception)

It also solved another issue: youtube video preview pics and comments section were not loading - which was why I was trying to dbug the page in the first place, so that's all good.

The dbugged code pages now load from both links (previously the first link just loaded the actual page)
Strangely, the debugged pages are now in proper color when using my custom config, but are still in black and white with the orig sidki. This happens with http pages too
On some pages of dbugged code, the little green download indicator on the left side of the tab just keeps spinning, if that indicates anything.

Visited link color is working properly now too.
Quote: I made the suggested changes. The menu is back! (er... except on this site but seems to be an exception)

Just another option for you, to bypass that problem without turning off mixed content from browser, you can use a webserver that (must) support SSL to host skidi pack's css, js, images... import certificate from that web server to your browser and you are done.
(Jan. 11, 2015 10:45 AM)GunGunGun Wrote: [ -> ]you can use a webserver that (must) support SSL to host skidi pack's css, js, images...

I don't really understand how that works but I'd prefer not to have to host anything online. Also, I've been maintaining a Proxomitron config for several friends and want to keep things as streamlined and simple as possible for them (and for me when updating and setting up things). It's getting more difficult all the time to get people to use it, so unless I'm misunderstanding what this means, changing about:config, seems easier.
(Jan. 13, 2015 06:56 AM)zoltan Wrote: [ -> ]
(Jan. 11, 2015 10:45 AM)GunGunGun Wrote: [ -> ]you can use a webserver that (must) support SSL to host skidi pack's css, js, images...

I don't really understand how that works but I'd prefer not to have to host anything online. Also, I've been maintaining a Proxomitron config for several friends and want to keep things as streamlined and simple as possible for them (and for me when updating and setting up things). It's getting more difficult all the time to get people to use it, so unless I'm misunderstanding what this means, changing about:config, seems easier.

What I mean is you can use Local Webserver software to host Proxomitron resource.
Or easier, you can upload your offline file to github or https site that support direct link like Dropbox. So you can upgrade it everytime you want and your friends will get it immediately
OK, thanks, I may look into dropbox and keep that in mind.
I tried putting ProxHTTPSProxy on a friend's computer and had problems that I'm not experiencing on my own. Specifically, the few https sites we tried were very slow to load. For example, with a cleared cache, youtube would stall for about 20 sec or more before even beginning to load. It could be another minute or 2 before the page content (not the actual video) would fully load. Even 3 or 4 minutes is not out of the question. But once loaded, you could sometimes go to another video without much delay. Google search behaves similarly.

I'm wondering if it's something I did or didn't do correctly. I tried to make setup easy by just copying all my Proxomitron folders over as is. (that should include all the necessary rear server/eternal proxy and "bypass urls..." seetings, right?) Then added a folder for ProxHTTPSProxy and launcher.exe into the "Program Files (other)" folder where Proxomitron is located. Then set the browser for 8080 & 8079, just like my own and imported CA.crt.

I did start ProxHTTPSProxy with launcher and blindly tried some of the various Chinese right-click settings, but I'm thinking that's not the issue because when starting it directly from Windows Explorer, the same problems occur.

The OS and browser on his system are same as mine. Only difference is that his cpu and internet are both faster than mine, so it's nothing related to that. Was tested without anti-virus and firewall as well. It's difficult to solve because he's quite busy and doesn't have time for testing/tweaking, and I can't replicate it on my computer, but I was hoping the symptoms might indicate something really obvious - that I just made a simple mistake in setup.
Some fail to load js/css may freeze loading the whole page. Does your Proxomitron filters block js/css? What if you disable all web and header filters? Or you can just put a * under the [BYPASS URL] section to bypass Proxomitron.
The Proxomitron config (sidki + my custom filters) is the same as on my system. All the proxomitron files wire directly copied. So if the filters aren't causing the delays on mine, it would seem to be something else, wouldn't it? I didn't try disabling all web/headers but I suppose that would give a definitive answer about them. It'll be a good while until I have a chance test and tweak, so for now I'm trying to accumulate some ideas about what to do. From what you're saying it sounds like the extreme slow loads aren't typical from a misconfiguration of the ProxyHTTPSProxy + Proxomitron + browser combination. But it seems significant that it's just happening on https pages.
There is something called browser cache. There could also be many other things being different.

It is very common that something works on someone's computer but not on someone else. I think what I suggest could help to simplify the process of trouble shooting. It looks basic but it could help us to go through the problems step by step.

Anyway, I'm glad you come to a definitive answer on something. Wink
We did clear the cache and cookies several times while testing. I will try your suggestion about disabling filters next time. The only other thing I can think of trying is reinstalling proxomitron with a fresh config and deleting/installing ca.crt.

The suggestion to use [BYPASS URL] brings up some questions: In config.ini, what's the difference between [BYPASS URL] and [SSL Pass-Thru]?

I noticed the css at Google play store was not being filtered and was hosted at gstatic, so I commented out the gstatic.com entry under [SSL Pass-Thru]. Will this cause problems? I'm not sure why some of the sites are listed under other categories as well.

Does [BLACKLIST] totally block all content from those URLs? Or only if they're https?
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22
Reference URL's