The Un-Official Proxomitron Forum

Full Version: Forum button images Local storage (Doom9.org)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I posted one of those for the old and buried proxo forum also, perhaps some of them still has them.

First of all, I'm a newbie, and I probably will for ever, no matter how hard I try, I'll stay a newbie regarding regular expressions and website stuff overall.

The idea of this filter and its accompanied forum images is to take some stress from websites you have problems with, due to slow responses/high forum activity/slow ping times.

I just started for a forum I regularly visit for media en-/decoding, called doom9.org. I started creating a local cache for the forum buttons because requesting images for changes took a long time, and ultimately the browser had them in cache most of the time, but anyway.

I created a little filter which took care of (most of) the forum buttons, smillies, anything image related. Thus the browser still sends requests to the forum if images got changed, but proxomitron now takes the work and sends back a locally cached image instead of send the requests to the forum server.

If I have a little time, and if it would be a good idea (correct me if I'm wrong, but perhaps my filter has drawbacks which I newbishly didn't think about) to make one for this forum also.

Here's the code :
Code:
[Blocklists]
List.Doom9 = "..\Doom9\Doom9.txt"

[HTTP headers]
In = FALSE
Out = TRUE
Key = "! : Redir: Doom9 images cache TEST (out)"
URL = "forum.doom9.org/images/(statusicon|misc|buttons|smilies|attach|editor)/(*.(gif|png))\1&$LST(Doom9)$RDIR(http://local.ptron/Doom9/\1)"

... and the local image cache (to extract in main proxo folder, images are in subdirs)

EDIT: replace double / by single one in $RDIR command.
(Dec. 20, 2009 09:56 PM)Toppy Wrote: [ -> ]local.ptron//Doom9

Is there an extra "/" ?
(Dec. 21, 2009 03:13 AM)JJoe Wrote: [ -> ]